Portfolio Project

PROJECT CORRECTIONS/TIME SPENT
I spent about ten minutes each working on my magazine cover, Prezi presentation, montage, HTML and CSS project,  mockup, and brochure. I spent about an hour making changes to my business identity project.

DESCRIPTION
Design a portfolio that showcases all projects from my Visual Media course.

PROCESS (Programs, Tools, Skills, FOCUS principles)
First, I chose which projects I would feature and then I made made corrections to them based on my instructor’s critiques and additional critiques from other people. Next I came up with a plan for my logo. My logo had a balloon in it, so I decided to incorporate that into the design of my portfolio. I came up with some possible ideas to incorporate them. Then I went into InDesign and began laying things out. After I was finished with my initial design I exported the required spreads as JPEG and uploaded them to Facebook for critique. I made the suggested changes to my pages and then I exported them as JPEGS and loaded them here.

CRITIQUE PROCESS
I received a critique from Jessica Angelo. She liked my color scheme, but felt like the current distribution made it so my portfolio elements drew more attention than my featured designs. She also suggested adjusting my contact information to make it simpler and adding some spaces between my paragraphs. My instructor suggested that I consolidate some of the elements in my logo and change the color of the box of my logo so that I could use the pink as the background color of my cover page. She suggested I make some changes to the color of my background on my spreads and adjust my contact page. The biggest suggestion that she gave was to work on my typography. I received one-on-one critique from my friend Hannah. She also suggested that I change the background color of my spreads because the pink text on a gray background was difficult to read. Additionally she said I should look at the placement of my balloons because it was a little too organized and didn’t look very organic.

MESSAGE
Showcase my work in a professional way that highlights my design style.

AUDIENCE
Potential client and employers.

TOP THING LEARNED
Master pages make adding repeating elements much simpler.

COLOR SCHEME & COLOR NAMES
Monochromatic // Pink, gray and white

TITLE FONT NAME & CATEGORY
Majesti Banner – Book // old style
Tofino Personal – Bold // Sans Serif

COPY FONT NAME & CATEGORY
Majesti Banner – Book // oldstyle

Leave a Reply

