Brochure Project

Capture1

Capture2

DESCRIPTION
Design a brochure for a company.

PROCESS (Programs, Tools, Skills, FOCUS principles)
The first thing I did was pick a topic. I was helping a student at work come up with ideas for the superhero Wolfman that he was creating for his English class, so I used that as inspiration and decided to do my project on werewolves. Next, I went online and found some images to use as inspiration and some research about werewolves. After that I  decided to do a trifold layout, so I sketched out where each aspect of my brochure  and labeled them, so I knew how things would end up when I printed.

Then I went into Indesign and set up the basic layout of my brochure. After that I went  into illustrator and created a moon, werewolf,  heart, wolf head, plant, and silver bullet, as well as my logo. I used the moon in my logo. After I had created all of my images I went back to InDesign and added the images I created as well as some additional ones and added some text boxes with filler text. Then I exported my project as JPEGs and uploaded it to Facebook.

After I received critiques I implemented the suggestions I was given. Then I exported them as JPEGs again for additional critique on Facebook. I was able to implement additional changes. Finally I printed out my final version for submission. I then trimmed off the edges and folded it so it was a finished product.

CRITIQUE PROCESS
Critique Cycle 1: I received a critique on Facebook from Charlotte Huyett. Charlotte said that my layout looked a little too “column-ized” and suggested adding some elements that spanned multiple columns. My instructor told me that I did not have enough white space. She also said my gradient was a too dramatic and my font types were not consistent.

Critique Cycle 2: After making the suggested changes I received additional critiques from Samantha Meredith and Shelby Burnworth. My instructor said that I needed to adjust the spacing between some of my elements and still work on my gradient as well as adding some more contrast on the inside portion of my brochure. I received a one-one-one critique from my friend Hannah. She said that the green color of the wolf picture was too strong, so I went into Photoshop and added some color adjustments to it to tone down the green. She also told me that I needed to make some adjustments to my wolf image such as fixing the hand and tail.

MESSAGE
The basics of werewolf hunting.

AUDIENCE
People wanting to erradicate werewolves.

TOP THING LEARNED
Creating paragraph style to make matching font styles on different elements very easy.

COLOR SCHEME & COLOR NAMES
Monochromatic – Blue

TITLE FONT NAME & CATEGORY
Fairview // Sans Serif

COPY FONT NAME & CATEGORY
Adobe Devanagari// Oldstyle

THUMBNAILS OF ANY ORIGINAL, UNEDITED IMAGE(S) USED IN THE PROJECT AND SOURCE

2wolves

http://dsantiag.deviantart.com/art/2-Werewolves-77381284

werewolf

http://www.instructables.com/id/How-to-kill-a-Werewolf/

SOURCES OF INFORMATION

http://www.werewolves.com/signs-your-friend-is-a-werewolf/

http://www.instructables.com/id/How-to-kill-a-Werewolf/?ALLSTEPS

http://www.historicmysteries.com/history-of-the-werewolf-legend/

http://www.livescience.com/24412-werewolves.html

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Werewolf#Modern_reception

WORD COUNT: 305 Words

VIDEO

One thought on “Brochure Project

Leave a Reply

