7A: Business Identity Project

stationaryupdated

DESCRIPTION
Create a logo for a company/service/organization and establish a visual identity across documents.

PROCESS (Programs, Tools, Skills, FOCUS principles)
The initial task I tackled was coming up with an idea. I went to the design Pinterest inspiration board and got some ideas. After looking at those and some other logos from some of the other resources we were given and a search of Google, I decided that I wanted to do something silly and unique. I picked a cheese company and gave the company the name Stinky.

After I had my company picked out I looked online at some other cheese company logos as well as pictures of cheese to get some ideas of what type of logo I should do. I knewlogos I wanted to include a piece of Swiss cheese as my main object in my logo, so I found a good picture of Swiss cheese and placed it in Illustrator. Using the pen tool I traced around the cheese. Then I added some color to it. I designed three logos. Then I saved them as JPEG
and uploaded them to Facebook for reviews. I also got reviews from some of my friends and coworkers as well as family members.

After getting some feedback about my logo I settled on one logo style that didn’t include much text and adjusted the colors. Then I placed them into InDesign and created my Stationary and business cards. I chose to highlight the holey cheese pattern in my design and use the “stinky” aroma design from my cheese as a watermark. After I finished it I exported it as a jpg and uploaded it to Facebook for critiques.

CRITIQUE PROCESS

I received a critique from Missy Jones. She suggested I change my font colors on my business name to be the same color throughout. I changed it so that all of them were green. My instructor told me to get rid of my brown strokes and add some spacing to my text so that it didn’t look like one big block of text. She also told me I needed to align all my text on the same side between each piece of my project. She suggested I also incorporate some less uniformly shaped dots in my yellow border so that there was repetition from the cheese holes. I tried this and found that I did not like how it looked and decided to keep them all uniform. I also received critiques from my friend Hannah. She told me to to adjust the spacing of my font to make it more legible.

MESSAGE
A store that sells delicious gourmet cheeses.

AUDIENCE
People who are interested in more exotic cheeses.

TOP THING LEARNED
Learning to use the different tools in Illustrator.

COLOR SCHEME & COLOR NAMES
Analogous – Green, Orange, and Yellow

TITLE FONT NAME & CATEGORY
Kaushan Script – Script

COPY FONT NAME & CATEGORY
Abraham Lincoln – Serif

THUMBNAILS OF ANY ORIGINAL, UNEDITED IMAGE(S) USED IN THE PROJECT

N/A

SOURCE OF EACH IMAGE (website name and hyperlink)
The graphics are my own.

Leave a Reply

