6A Montage Project

6c-catherineflores

DESCRIPTION
Design a spiritual poster montage using the blend of images and type.

PROCESS (Programs, Tools, Skills, FOCUS principles)
I was a little stumped initially about what direction to take this project, so I did a little searching for inspirational posters and quotes online until I found one that I liked: “Some see weeds, some see wishes” with a picture of a dandelion. I thought this would be a really fun quote to design around.

The next thing I did was search online to find pictures that could work with my idea. I knew I wanted to have a dandelion blending into sparkles with someone blowing on it. Once I’d found pictures I uploaded them to Photoshop and began working with them and making the necessary adjustments to get them to blend appropriately. I added the quote and applied a wind filter to the sparkles.  After I completed my design I saved it as JPEG and uploaded it to Facebook for critiques.

CRITIQUE PROCESS
I received critiques on Facebook from Debbie Murdock, Missy Jones, Charlotte Huyett, and Astley Shaw. They all commented that I should match the text of the word “weed” with the text of the word “wish.” Missy also suggested that I needed a little more contrast between the words “some see” and “wish” and “weed.”

My instructor suggested that I add more contrast to “wish” and “weed” as well by taking colors from the sparkles and applying it as text color. She also suggested that I match the alignment of my wish text to the diagonal of the sparkles. I tried this and found that having both indentations going the same direction didn’t work well, so I went back to the way it was originally.

I received additional suggestions from my friend Hannah. She suggested that I change my cursive to a less bold one and make the text of “weed” and “wish” larger and the text of “some see” smaller.

MESSAGE
A message to encourage people to look positively at life.

AUDIENCE
People who like inspirational messages.

TOP THING LEARNED
Color helps add contrast.

COLOR SCHEME & COLOR NAMES
Yellow, Blue, Pink, Purple, Orange – The closest color scheme I can think of that matches is primary, though that does not include the purple.

TITLE FONT NAME & CATEGORY
Alex Brush – Script
Adobe Garamond Pro – Serif

THUMBNAILS OF ANY ORIGINAL, UNEDITED IMAGE(S) USED IN THE PROJECT

200152714-001

Every Wish

diagonalsparkles

i.ytimg.com/vi/qrND3_PDWUA/maxresdefault.jpg

texturescom_skies0258_1_m

http://www.textures.com/download/skies0258/17438?q=stars

Leave a Reply

