5A Photo Design Project

5a-catherineflores

DESCRIPTION
Use photography and design skills to create a project that encompasses a consistent color scheme from the image.

PROCESS (Programs, Tools, Skills, FOCUS principles)
I began the process by trying to pick a topic. I work in an elementary school and have worked in a library in the past, so I thought that choosing library books as my main theme would be a good direction to head. I then looked online at some examples of library posters for some ideas of what direction to take my design. The school I work at has the theme U.R.O.C.K. so I thought using the tagline “Our Library Rocks” would be appropriate.

To prepare for my photo session I went through the library at the elementary school I work at and selected some books with really attractive covers. One book, Rules by Cynthia Lord had a nice color scheme with blue and orange, so I used that as a starting point for the photo. I found other books that had blues and oranges then I set them up in an appealing way and photographed them using my brother-in-law’s Cannon 70D camera.

After taking several pictures I uploaded the pictures to Photoshop. I knew that the background I had in my photos wouldn’t be very attractive on my poster, so I used a mask to edit out the background. I added a light blue background because I thought was attractive with the books and it also added more interest to the design than a plain white background would. My color swatches are simple rectangles to mimic the basic shape of a book on a shelf. After I finished my design I saved it as a jpeg and uploaded it to Facebook for critiques.

CRITIQUE PROCESS

I received critiques from Jess Angelo and Megan Headley. They both commented that there was some readability issues with my text. They both liked the blue background. My instructor said that I should scale down the size of my books and possibly make it landscape oriented. She also said that I needed more contrast with my main title and could accomplish that by changing the size of some of the text. I received some one-on-one critiquing from my friend Hannah. She gave me some tips to make the cropping I did a little more clean. She also agreed that there were some readability problems.

MESSAGE
The library at Majestic Elementary school is awesome!

AUDIENCE
Students and teachers at Majestic Elementary School.

TOP THING LEARNED
I learned some more effective ways to crop out the background with masking.

COLOR SCHEME & COLOR NAMES
Complementary// Orange and blue

TITLE FONT NAME & CATEGORY
Harlow Solid Italic – Script

COPY FONT NAME & CATEGORY
MS Sans Serif – Sans Serif

THUMBNAILS OF ANY ORIGINAL, UNEDITED IMAGE(S) USED IN THE PROJECT

books-unedited

4 thoughts on “5A Photo Design Project

  1. Debbie Murdock says:

    I like the changes that you made. Changing it to a landscape really gave the photo a chance to come out. After your photo caught my eye I immediately went to the words because of the position of the so you had really flow. Great job on the masking it did look really clean.

    Like

Leave a Reply

